View Full Version : AcmeJunk Company has Betty Boop Drawer Pulls
Bikerbettyboop
02-03-2006, 01:55 PM
http://search-desc.ebay.com/betty-boop_W0QQbsZSearchQQcatrefZC6QQcoactionZcompareQQc oentrypageZsearchQQcopagenumZ1QQfposZ86334QQfromZR 10QQfsooZ1QQfsopZ1QQftrtZ1QQftrvZ1QQftsZ2QQsacatZQ 2d1QQsadisZ200QQsassZacmejunkcompanyQQsbrftogZ1QQs ellerZ1QQsofocusZunknown
bettyboopfan
02-03-2006, 06:11 PM
They are still selling them????!!!!???
The Moocher
02-07-2006, 06:01 AM
I thought King Features and the Hearst Corporation were on this case. Was it the Acme Junk Company that was selling them before?
Mooch
bettyboop0398
02-07-2006, 02:58 PM
Acme Junk company is right!Junk being the operative word!(LOL)
ACDCGRL15
02-07-2006, 03:01 PM
those are adorable i want one, my mom gose on ebay all the time. i am going to aske her if she will get me one.
bettyboop0398
02-07-2006, 03:07 PM
Be careful!I'm not SURE if it's these;but a fellow booper bought some and they turned out to be stickers on a knob.I think that is why they have it posted here;to warn us.
ACDCGRL15
02-07-2006, 04:15 PM
oh okay, we need you
bettyboop0398
02-07-2006, 04:48 PM
No problem;I'm glad I could help!I read the listing and they are homemade.Sounds a little ify to me.:D
ACDCGRL15
02-07-2006, 04:54 PM
oh yeah thats awsome
bettyboop0398
02-08-2006, 02:42 PM
I found 3 sellers on ebay that are selling nude decals.They are decal majic and decal-creator and vizulizesigns.
The Moocher
02-10-2006, 08:25 AM
I found 3 sellers on ebay that are selling nude decals.They are decal majic and decal-creator and vizulizesigns.
If anyone sees anything like that, send the seller a polite, neutral message enquiring whether the images they are using are licensed from King Features or the Hearst Corporation. I find this much more effective than angry or accusatory messages. I suppose the seller thinks the polite language indicates the first approach from a corporate lawyer.
Mooch
bettyboop0398
02-10-2006, 03:08 PM
No problem will do!Thanks!
fortheloveofbet
03-05-2006, 03:24 AM
Why do we even have this forum? No one listens! This is a waste of breath and time! I am the buyer who bought the Betty Knobs from ACMEJUNKCOMPANY and JUNK she sells! The images run when you get them wet! She prints them on some kind of decal paper and glues them to the knobs!
We have emailed Mcgahan and posted thread upon threat here in the "Report it" forum. I warned others on the site about this over 6 Months ago! She still sales and no one cares what a crappy, unlicensed product she sells! Hearst doesn't care, McGahan doesn't care and none of the legal staff give too hoots!
Reported by me and several others, are we not wasting our breath here?
mgchan
03-05-2006, 04:59 AM
Why do we even have this forum? No one listens! This is a waste of breath and time! I am the buyer who bought the Betty Knobs from ACMEJUNKCOMPANY and JUNK she sells! The images run when you get them wet! She prints them on some kind of decal paper and glues them to the knobs!
We have emailed Mcgahan and posted thread upon threat here in the "Report it" forum. I warned others on the site about this over 6 Months ago! She still sales and no one cares what a crappy, unlicensed product she sells! Hearst doesn't care, McGahan doesn't care and none of the legal staff give too hoots!
Reported by me and several others, are we not wasting our breath here?
As I've stated before, it's up to the legal department to take action as they see fit, not I. Everyday we receive many reports of unlicensed merchandise and vendors, from all over of the world. The legal department and the company that's hired to go after them does their best to crack down on them.
I've also stated that posting it here will help to warn other members. Last, as common sense dictates, let the buyer beware. Buying on eBay is a gamble, especially if the merchandise is sight unseen. If one is looking to get a bargain, you're most likely going to get one!
bettyboopfan
03-05-2006, 12:01 PM
Hearst doesn't care, MGChan doesn't care and none of the legal staff give too hoots!
That is not true! They do care. We all care!
Can you imagine how many reports they receive of illegal items being sold on a daily basis?
I am sorry that you got a bad deal from the seller at ebay but you really shouldn't blame the Hearst Corp., MGCHAN, or the legal department. They are all doing what they were hired to do.
fortheloveofbet
03-07-2006, 02:59 AM
Last, as common sense dictates, let the buyer beware.
Beings I am not a legal rep of Hearst, I emailed the seller and asked if they were licensed Her reply was:
"Yes, I only use lisened (sic) decals for my products and there for (sic) are official".
How was I to know? A seller told me they were licensed! Until I found this forum, I had no idea! How is anyone else suppose to? So I don't think it is a matter of common sense, and I resent the insinuation that I don't have common sense!
mgchan
03-07-2006, 04:29 AM
"Yes, I only use lisened (sic) decals for my products and there for (sic) are official".
So this wasn't enough of a warning sign for you?
A legitimate vendor will tell you up front they are licensed products or licensed to manufacture the products. You have the same situation with the sellers on eBay hawking the quilts. They're using BB fabric to create the quilts, but they're not licensed BB quilts. You definitely won't find the unlicensed knobs at Home Depot or the unlicensed quilts at Wal-Mart or Target.
Shop at a legitimate online site like www.BettyBoopStore.com or www.ClubBetty.com, or at retail stores like Wal-Mart or Target. Unless you know for sure what you're doing, do not shop at eBay.
Bikerbettyboop
03-13-2006, 06:45 PM
I have heard from so many people about getting ripped off by sellers on eBay and it is a sad tale and I feel sorry for them and the advice that's been given here on the forum is genuine and so buyers need to learn to collect only officially licensed products. That way you know you're getting the "real thing".
I'm sorry "For the Love of Bet" that you got ripped off by that eBay seller on your knobs. It's really a shame because Bright Ideas does make Betty Boop knobs that are really good quality and are licensed by King Features.
I know you are frustrated. Believe me, as a legitimate seller of only officially licensed Betty Boop products, I too feel frustrated and annoyed by those people out there who use and abuse the Betty Boop image and sometimes it doesn't seem like they are held accountable... but they will be.. their time will come. They can't get away with breaking the law forever.
So just make sure that in the future, you continue to post questionable items here on the forum and only buy legitimate products. That's the best we can do.
Candlesnboop
03-13-2006, 07:03 PM
When I buy Via Ebay, and I buy knowing that the item(s) are being selled w/ tags. If they don't have tags, I am very up front and ask the seller if the item they are sellin has the following on their item. If not it is not worth buying...
©2002 - 2005 King Features Syndicate, Inc. / Fleischer Studios, Inc.
TMHearst Holdings, Inc. / Fleischer Studios, Inc. I actually post this on the email I send them. Most of the time the sellers come back saying yes that that tag is on the item an or that the date is a bit different.... Until I know that I never EVER EVER bid an an item from Ebay :):)
bettyboopfan
03-13-2006, 09:45 PM
So just make sure that in the future, you continue to post questionable items here on the forum and only buy legitimate products. That's the best we can do.
You are correct, Triple B!! :D
Bikerbettyboop
03-14-2006, 05:54 PM
I can't imagine the responsibility that the Legal Dept. has with trying to keep on top of illegally produced items. It must be very frustrating!! Hang in there Legal D... we all know you're doing the best you can!!
bettyboopfan
03-14-2006, 09:16 PM
Can you imagine how busy they must be? I know I wouldn't want the job! :D
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.12 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.